Lago: Linguine and Clams

lago

Growing up, Linguine with Clam Sauce was one of my favorite dishes, and it still is to this day; its for that reason that I am a very hard critic when it comes to this dish. I have found, sadly, that so many people simply fail at making a proper Linguine with Clam Sauce, and no one comes close to making it like my mom does.

My last experience with this restaurant bought dish ended pretty badly, so I was worried that Lago’s might turn out to be a let down; could it live up to my expectations?

20150708_142216

I must admit that the first couple of bites had me worried that this would be just another failed attempt at one of my favorite foods, but with each and every bite thereafter, I found myself liking it more and more.

The linguine was soft, but slightly more al dente than I’m used to; a feature that was different, but added to the overall experience with its uniqueness. The clams were as they should be, salty and bite sized, with just enough chewiness to where they neither melted in your mouth nor stayed around for too long.

Mixed into the pasta were small, crunchy garlic cloves, and the Parmesan sprinkled on top was another new and welcome element; the final touch was a nice buttery sauce that the pasta and clams rested in until there was none left to be had.

All in all this was the best Linguine and Clams I’ve ever had in a restaurant, and I would give it a big thumbs up; I still think my mom’s version is better, but hey, its hard to beat home cooking right?

Got food tips? Email me at: foodreviews24@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

