Frank Pepe: Original Tomato Pie w/ Mozzarella

20150810_132302Established in 1925, Frank Pepe as a long history of serving pizza to citizens of Yonkers and Connecticut. I walked in there not really knowing anything about the place except that the pizza was supposed to be good. I was immediately surprised to find out that instead of slices, Frank Pepe serves coal fired personal pies; and it is with a healthy curiosity that I dug into mine.

20150810_133901

I’m not usually a fan of coal fired pizza, but this one was very good. It was crispy and had a medium sized crust (not too thin and not too thick) as well as a medium sized body; it was covered in both stringy and thick mozzarella cheese, an absolutely perfect choice for this pie.

The sauce they used was sweet and delicious, and the pie also had a nice dousing of olive oil which was a really nice accompaniment to the cheese and the sauce.

After one visit to Frank Pepe in Yonkers, I know I’ll be back; and I’m looking forward to trying their White Clam Pizza in the near future.

Got food tips? Email me at: foodreviews24@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

