RiverMarket Bar And Kitchen: Quail

outdoors-with-sign800

This review is a first for me, as it is the first time I have ever reviewed or eaten Quail, so quite honesty I was very excited and a bit apprehensive to try it. How’d it turn out? Really good.

dsc00015

This is a Black Dirt bourbon glazed Cavendish Farms quail, laid out on creamy wild hive polenta and accompanied by caramelized brussels sprouts.

Starting with the polenta, it was thick and creamy, with a hint of sweetness; I have to say I really enjoyed it. To an extent, it reminded me of oatmeal, and I know that may sound weird to you if you know polenta, but I don’t mean it negatively. I’m not saying it is the same as oatmeal, in truth oatmeal is thicker and heavier, but in terms of some base texture elements, this polenta reminded me of this common breakfast dish.

The brussels sprouts were good too, but the star of this meal is obviously the bird, and don’t you know that the bird is the word? (I’m so sorry).

Underneath a slightly rough texture is a tender and moist meat, similar to chicken, though distinct enough to tell the difference, particularly in its sweetness, and was charred ever so slightly for added flavor.

RiverMarket Bar And Kitchen in Tarrytown, New York, is a great restaurant that serves up some pretty good food, and I am looking forward to trying even more of their menu soon.

Leave a Reply

